The Angul dance troupe among the winners of the grand finale of Vande Bharatam


Bhubaneswar: A dance troupe from the Angul district in Odisha is among the winners of the grand finale of the “Vande Bharatam – Nritya Utsav”, a pan-Indian dance competition in the framework of Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the independence of India.

A total of 36 teams won at the event held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium – Auditorium in New Delhi on Sunday, December 19, 2021.

Angul’s Nrutyanilaya Dance Troupe, under the supervision of Guru Smt Swapnarani Sinha, performed “Dasamahavidya,” representing the 10 Tantric Incarnations of Shakti Goddesses conceptualized from Shaktism.

The 10 Mahavidyas are Kali, Tara, Shodashi, Bhuvaneshwari, Bhairavi, Chinnamasta, Dhumavati, Baglamukhi, Matangi and Kamala.

The artists who performed the dance are Dr Ankita Rath (team leader), Anisha Sinha, Diptymayee Sahu (Berhampur, Ganjam), Pinaki Das, Swarnanki Das, Jasobanta Samal, Tamanna Patra, Biswapujya Swain, Suhani Pradhan and Supriya Pradhan .

The troupe received the award from the Minister of State for Culture and External Affairs Smt. Meenakashi Lekhi. Other dignitaries who graced the occasion are Smt. Ila Arun, Smt. Shibani Kashyap, Smt. Prathibha Prahlad and Smt. Shovana Narayan.

The Grand Final was judged by a renowned jury including Smt. Geetanjali Lal, Smt. Maitreyee Pahari and Shri Santosh Nair. The event also included a featured performance by famous dancer Smt. Tanusree Shankar & his troop and by Smt. Rani Khanum and his troop.


Comments are closed.